Colorado Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program

The Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program

In March 2021, the United States Treasury’s Homeowners Assistance Fund was established under Section 3206 of the American Rescue Plan Act to help mitigate financial hardships associated with the coronavirus pandemic by providing funds to eligible entities. In October 2021, the Colorado Department of Local Affairs, through its Division of Housing, established the Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program to disburse the State of Colorado’s allocation of federal funds.

How Can Colorado Homeowners Utilize this Program?

The Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program is designed to help eligible Colorado homeowners keep their homes by assisting with:

  • Mortgage delinquencies;
  • Individuals who have gone through loss mitigation after forbearance;
  • Defaults;
  • Foreclosures;
  • Loss of utilities or home energy services; and
  • Displacements of homeowners experiencing financial hardship after January 21, 2020. 

Apply for Emergency Mortgage Assistance

Emergency Mortgage Assistance Application Process

#FFFFFF
#FFFFFF
#FFFFFF

Applications are reviewed for eligibility and compliance; applicants may be asked to provide additional documentation

#FFFFFF
#FFFFFF

Applicants are notified via email of approval or denial.

#FFFFFF
#FFFFFF

Approved applicants send payment information to the service provider.

#FFFFFF
#FFFFFF

Provider verifies the payment amount.

#FFFFFF
#FFFFFF

Payment is paid directly to the provider.

#FFFFFF

Eligibility Requirements

To qualify for assistance from the Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program, homeowners must complete an application and demonstrate that they: 
  • Have experienced a COVID-related impact to their finances on or after January 21, 2020. 
    • The hardship could include: job loss; reduction in income; reduction in hours worked; increased costs due to healthcare; increased costs due to the need to care for family members; or other issues which have impacted the household’s income. 
  • Are owner-occupants of a single-family home or condominium, or a 2- 3- or 4-family home located in Colorado. 
    • This does not include owner-occupied properties of 5 or more units, investor-owned properties or vacation homes. 
  • Have an income equal to or less than 100% of Area Median Income for the county in which they reside currently, or at the time of COVID-related financial hardship.
  • Have a loan under the conforming loan limits (non-jumbo loan) at time of origination or most recent refinance (loan limits vary by region). 

Homeowners applying for the Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program should also apply for loss mitigation through their mortgage lender.  Loss mitigation documentation may be uploaded with your Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program application.  

Additional documentation may be requested in order to verify your eligibility.

Apply Now

    #FFFFFF

    Application Supporting Documents and Documentation Requirements

    The following  documents are also required  in the on-line application portal:
    • Government-issued ID for all household members 18 years of age or older
    • Deed or Proof of Ownership
    • Income Documents for all household members 18 years of age or older 
    • Accepted Income Documents Include: 
      • paystubs;
      • W2s or other wage statements;
      • IRS Form 1099, tax filings;
      • depository institution (or bank) statements demonstrating regular income;
      • benefit determination letter;
      • a self-attestation of zero income; or
      • or an attestation from an employer.
    • Mortgage Documents such as your most recent mortgage statement, loss mitigation paperwork from your mortgage lender, foreclosure notices, etc.  
    • Completed and signed Third Party Authorization form. This form is necessary in order for the Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program/Homeowner Assistance Fund Program staff to speak with your mortgage lender.
    #FFFFFF

    Where to go for Help

    For program information and assistance with application status email, dola_haf_client_support@state.co.us.

    For the Neighborly portal, reset your password, or for technical assistance email, support@neighborlysoftware.com.

    To locate an approved U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) counselor in your area, review the HUD website or call HUD’s interactive voice system (800) 569-4287.

    #FFFFFF

    Program FAQs

    Print a copy of the program FAQs

    What type of expenses can be covered by the Emergency Mortgage Assistance program/Homeowner Assistance Fund program?  

    Expenses covered by the Emergency Mortgage Assistance program currently include: 

    • Mortgage assistance (not required to be delinquent)
    • Mortgage reinstatement assistance
    • Homeowner association fees or liens
    • Condominium association fees
    • Homeowner’s utilities (including electric, gas, internet service, home energy and water)
    • Payment assistance for delinquent property taxes 
    • Homeowner’s insurance payment assistance

     

    How long will it take to know if I’ve been approved for assistance?

    Currently, reviews are taking longer than expected due to the high volume of Emergency Mortgage Assistance program applications received. Our non-profit partners are reviewing applications in the order in which they were received, which is currently taking more than ninety (90) days from submission to review. 

    Please continue to work with your lender during this time in discussing any loss mitigation options. 

     

    Who reviews my application? 

    The State of Colorado contracts with non-profit organizations to review the submitted applications. At this time non-profit partners are reviewing applications in the order in which they were received. 

     

    Can my application be prioritized for quicker processing? 

    Currently the only prioritization is for borrowers facing a pending foreclosure sale (e.g., an auction date). We do anticipate some special circumstances to arise through case management that will be prioritized as needed.

     

    Why is my application still listed as “Application Submitted?”

    The status of your application will read “Application Submitted” if it has been submitted by you, but not yet pulled for review by one of our non-profit partners. Once one of our non-profit partners pulls your application for review, they will change the status of your application to “Under Review.”  Once the reviewing agency makes a determination about your application, they will let you know via email or through the Neighborly portal.  

     

    What qualifies as COVID impact?

    You must have experienced a direct or indirect financial hardship such as a decrease in income or increase in living expenses as a result of the coronavirus pandemic. This can include but is not limited to job loss, reduction in work hours, an increase in costs due to childcare, illness, or the need to care for a family member since January 21, 2020. This can include hardships that began before January 21, 2020 and continued after that date, but only costs accrued after January 21, 2020 are eligible for EMAP assistance.

     

    How long will it take for me to receive assistance after I apply?

    Currently, application reviews are taking longer than expected due to the volume of EMAP applications received. Our non-profit partners are reviewing applications in the order in which they were received, which is currently taking more than 90 days from submission to review.  

     

    How will I be informed of the approval or denial of my EMAP application?

    Once one of the State of Colorado non-profit partners pulls your application for review, they will make a determination about your application and let you know via email, text, or the Neighborly application portal.  The non-profit partner will let you know if any additional information is needed to process your application, and if approved, the amount of assistance you are approved for. 

     

    If my application is denied, how can I appeal this decision?

    If denied, you will have sixty (60) days to appeal. 

    To appeal, email dola_haf_client_suppport@state.co.us and include the following: 
    Case ID for Neighborly portal

    • Summary of the situation and reasons provided by the reviewer for the rejection
    • Appeal statement detailing why the decision is not appropriate
    • Supporting documentation that can be used to demonstrate why the appeal is valid

    The Division of Housing will review the appeal and issue a decision within 21 days. 

     

    Can I re-apply if additional assistance is needed?

    No.

    The Emergency Mortgage Assistance program is designed for short-term, one-time assistance; therefore homeowners cannot re-apply for assistance.

     

    My mortgage is in forbearance and/or enrolled in a loss mitigation plan. Can I apply today?

    Yes. 

    The Emergency Mortgage Assistance program encourages all homeowners to reach out to their mortgage lender to determine what loss mitigation options may be available.  However, we will not process your application until after your forbearance period ends and a decision has been made by your mortgage lender about your loss mitigation options.

     

    Can I apply for Emergency Mortgage Assistance program assistance if I have declared chapter 13 bankruptcy? 

    Yes.

    Delinquencies related to your mortgage can be eligible if you meet the eligibility requirements of the Emergency Mortgage Assistance program.

     

    Can I apply for the Emergency Mortgage Assistance program if foreclosure is imminent?

    Yes.

    Even though the foreclosure process has started, submit an Emergency Mortgage Assistance program application and contact the Department of Local Affairs/Division of Housing immediately at dola_haf_client_support@state.co.us

    Let your lender know that you have applied for this program and continue to work with them regarding forbearance and loss mitigation options. 

     

    Am I eligible for the Emergency Mortgage Assistance program for my second home or rental property?  

    No.

    Assistance is only available for owner-occupied homes. For rental properties you can explore rental assistance programs.

     

    How much assistance is available? 

    For qualified expenses up to $40,000 per household.

    Maximum assistance is $40,000 per household. Assistance will cover eligible arrears not covered in a loss mitigation offer from the lender, current month payment, plus up to 2 future months payments. Homeowners are eligible for a one time assistance, and maximum assistance is not guaranteed.

     

    Who shall I list as an applicant?

    All adults eighteen (18) years or older residing in the home as their primary residence must provide identification and income documentation as counted toward the total household annual income. 

     

    What does the status of my application mean?
    • Application in Progress: Application is currently underway by the homeowner. It has not yet been submitted for review.
    • Application Submitted: Application has been submitted by client and is currently waiting to be assigned to a Reviewer.
    • Application Under Review: Application is currently under review by the Reviewer. 
    • Pending Applicant Information: The reviewing agency needs further information from the homeowner in order to make a determination about the application. 
    • Non-Responsive: The homeowner has not responded to reviewer attempts to contact them.  If a response is not received, the application will be closed due to non-responsiveness. 
    • Withdrawn: The homeowner is no longer in need of assistance and has asked to have their application withdrawn. 
    • On Hold, Pending Loss Mitigation Paperwork: The reviewing agency is awaiting a decision by the mortgage lender concerning loss mitigation, or the reviewing agency is waiting for the homeowner’s forbearance period to be over.  
    • Approved: Pending Payment: The application has been approved for assistance and is awaiting payment by the reviewing agency. 
    • Denied: The application has been denied.  To find out how to appeal a denial see the program FAQs.
    • Denied-Duplicate: The application has been denied because there has already been an application submitted by the homeowner previously.
    • Paid: The reviewing agency has processed the check and the approval information has been sent to the homeowner.  
    • Closed: All payments that the homeowner has been approved for have been sent.  No more assistance is available so the application has been closed out.

     

    Where can I get assistance?

    For program information and assistance with application status email, dola_haf_client_support@state.co.us.

    For the Neighborly portal, reset your password, or for technical assistance email, support@neighborlysoftware.com.

    To locate an approved U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) counselors in your area review the HUD website or call HUD’s interactive voice system (800) 569-4287.

    For assistance with rent visit the Emergency Rental Assistance Program or email, dola_eraquestions@state.co.us.